After a steady stream of complaints, Facebook will now delete photos from its servers within 30 days of getting a request instead of letting them languish for people to access later.
Facebook told Ars Technica that it has put new photo storage systems in place that allow for permanent deleting. In February, the company claimed that photos from the early days of Facebook were stored on older systems and in turn, that produced many bugs and photos not getting deleted.
As a result of work on our policies and infrastructure, we have instituted a max-age of 30 days for our content distribution network (CDN) links, Facebook told VentureBeat. However, in some cases the content will expire on the CDN much more quickly, based on a number of factors.
A little backstory on the problem: To delete a... [via VentureBeat]
- Your Deleted Drunken Facebook Photos Are Now Truly... (WebProNews )